web analytics

2016 Tony Award Winners

Written on:June 13, 2016
Add One

June 13, 2016

Broadway’s biggest night is the Annual Tony Awards. Hamilton was expected to be the big winner. And it was, but it did fall short of winning a record number of awards. The Producers won 12. Hamilton only received 11 out of its 16 nominations.

And the winners of the 70th annual Tony Awards are:

Musical: “Hamilton”

Play: “The Humans”

Musical Revival: “The Color Purple”

Play Revival: “A View From the Bridge”

Actor, play: Frank Langella, “The Father”

Actress, play: Jessica Lange, “Long Day’s Journey Into Night”

Actor, musical: Leslie Odom Jr., “Hamilton”

Actress, musical: Cynthia Erivo, “The Color Purple”

Book, musical: “Hamilton,” Lin-Manuel Miranda

Original Score: “Hamilton,” music and lyrics, Lin-Manuel Miranda

Featured actor, play: Reed Birney, “The Humans”

Featured actress, play: Jayne Houdyshell, “The Humans”

Featured actor, musical: Daveed Diggs, “Hamilton”

Featured actress, musical: Renée Elise Goldsberry, “Hamilton”

Scenic design, play: David Zinn, “The Humans”

Scenic design, musical: David Rockwell, “She Loves Me”

Costume design, play: Clint Ramos, “Eclipsed”

Costume design, musical: Paul Tazewell, “Hamilton”

Lighting design, play: Natasha Katz, “Long Day’s Journey Into Night”

Lighting design, musical: Howell Binkley, “Hamilton”

Direction, play: Ivo van Hove, “A View From the Bridge”

Direction, musical: Thomas Kail, “Hamilton”

Choreography: Andy Blankenbuehler, “Hamilton”

Orchestrations: Alex Lacamoire, “Hamilton”

Special Tony Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Theater: Sheldon Harnick and Marshall W. Mason

Isabelle Stevenson Tony Award: Brian Stokes Mitchell

Regional Theater Tony Award: Paper Mill Playhouse, Millburn, N.J.

Special Tony Award: National Endowment for the Arts and Miles Wilkin

Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theater: Seth Gelblum

Joan Lader

Sally Ann Parsons

Support This Site
Delmarva Scenes Advert
Advertise on ChesaDel Crier

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *